How to Call Canada Phone Numbers

Country phone codes

+1 is the country calling code assigned to Canada by the International Telecommunication Union. All of the country’s telephone numbers are also designated under the Telecommunications Act of 1993 created by the Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission of the Canadian Government.

So if you’re calling Canada, the number should start with:

+1 123-456-7890

Check Lebara’s rate for Canada

View Rates

Other Important Information about Canada

Prefix

A prefix is simply the set of numbers that come before the country and area codes of a telephone number. Canada’s telephone numbers are made up of 11 numbers split into groups of 3. So if you’re going to make a call to Canada using a mobile phone, you should dial country code+area code+7-digit number. Some of the common area codes in Canada include British Columbia (604), Ontario (416) and Quebec (514)

Location Country Code Landline Area Code Landline Number
Vancouver +1 (604) 123 4567
Toronto +1 (416) 123 4567
Montreal +1 (514) 123 4567

So if you’re making a call to Vancouver, dial +1 604 123 4567.

Network coverage

Network coverage is readily available across Canada.

4G coverage

LTE 4G connection is moderately available across the country, but quality highly depends on the mobile operator.

International Roaming

Available at over 50 destinations, you can count on us to keep you connected even when you’re not in home soil. 
We know how difficult it can be to be far from home and the family for a long time. We can only wish to talk to them non-stop day and night. But we also know that the more we spend time with calls and texts overseas, the bigger the expenses can get. Read more

Top Mobile SIM network in Canada

Here are the top mobile SIM networks in Canada:

Bell Mobility

Telus

Rogers

Top apps used to communicate

Here are the top apps mostly used for communication in Canada:

WhatsApp

WhatsApp

Messenger

Messenger

Emergency phone numbers

911 is the most important emergency number to take note of when visiting Canada:

ambulance service

911 for ambulance service

fire

911 for fire

police

911 for police

warning

911 for the national emergency number.

Best Time to Call Canada

Canada observes six time zones, Pacific Standard Time using the time offset of UTC-08, Mountain Standard Time using the time offset of UTC-07, Central Standard Time using the time offset of UTC-06, Eastern Standard Time using the time offset of UTC-05, Atlantic Standard Time using the time offset of UTC-04., and Newfoundland Standard Time using the time offset of UTC-03:30.
Wherever you are in Australia, you can call Canada from the following time zones:

Best time to call

Time to Call

UTC Relative

Time Zone

State

Vancouver 8:00am – 4:00pm UTC+10:00 Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) Queensland
8:00am – 2:00pm UTC+08:00 Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) Western Australia
8:00am – 3:30pm UTC+09:30 Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) South Australia, Northern Territory and town of Broken Hill in Western New South Wales
8:00am – 5:00pm UTC+11:00 Norfolk Island Standard Time (NFT) Norfolk Island
8:00am – 1:00pm UTC+07:00 Christmas Island Standard Time (CXT) Christmas Island
8:00am – 12:30pm UTC+06:30 Cocos (Keeling) Islands Standard Time (CCT) Cocos (Keeling) Islands
Best time to call

Time to Call

UTC Relative

Time Zone

State

Toronto 9:00am – 1:00pm UTC+10:00 Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) Queensland
8:00am – 11:00am UTC+08:00 Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) Western Australia
8:00am – 12:30pm UTC+09:30 Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) South Australia, Northern Territory and town of Broken Hill in Western New South Wales
8:00am – 2:00pm UTC+11:00 Norfolk Island Standard Time (NFT) Norfolk Island
8:00am – 12:00pm UTC+07:00 Christmas Island Standard Time (CXT) Christmas Island
8:00am – 11:30am UTC+06:30 Cocos (Keeling) Islands Standard Time (CCT) Cocos (Keeling) Islands

Daylight Savings Time (first Sunday in October – first Sunday in April)

Best time to call

Time to Call

UTC Relative

Time Zone

State

Vancouver 8:00am – 2:00pm UTC+11:00 Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) New South Wales (except Broken Hill), Victoria, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory
9:00am – 1:00pm UTC+10:00 Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) Queensland
8:00am – 11:00am UTC+08:00 Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) Western Australia
8:30am – 1:30pm UTC+10:30 Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT) South Australia, Northern Territory and town of Broken Hill in Western New South Wales
8:00am – 12:30pm UTC+09:30 Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) Northern Territory
8:00am – 7:00pm UTC+12:00 Norfolk Island Daylight Time (NDT) Norfolk Island
8:00am – 1:00pm UTC+07:00 Christmas Island Standard Time (CXT) Christmas Island
8:00am – 12:30pm UTC+06:30 Cocos (Keeling) Islands Standard Time (CCT) Cocos (Keeling) Islands

Pick up a Lebara SIM

  • Woolworths icon
  • Caltex logo and Woolworths logo
  • Coles logo
  • Coles Express logo
  • United logo
  • Australia Post logo
  • Big W icon
  • BP logo
  • WHSmith logo