How to Call French Polynesia Phone Numbers?

Country phone codes

+689 is the country calling code assigned to French Polynesia by the International Telecommunication Union. All of the country’s telephone numbers are also designated under the Numbering Plan of 2020, created by the Direction Générale de l’Economie Numérique (DGEN) of the French Polynesia Government

So if you’re calling to French Polynesia, the number should start with:

+689 895-554

Check Lebara’s rate for French Polynesia

View Rates

Other Important Information about French Polynesia

Prefix

A prefix is simply the set of numbers that come after the country and area codes of a telephone number. French Polynesia’s telephone numbers are made up of 11 numbers split into groups of 3. So if you’re going to make a call to French Polynesia using a mobile phone, you should dial country code+area code+5-digit number. Some of the common area codes in French Polynesia include Windward Islands (40 4, 40 5, 40 8), Leeward (40 6) and Remote Islands (40 9).

Location Country Code Landline Area Code Landline Number
Windward Islands +689 40 4
40 5
40 8
12345
Leeward Islands +689 40 6 12345
Remote Islands +689 40 9 12345

So, if you’re making a call to Windward Islands, dial +689 40 412345.

Network coverage

Network coverage is moderately available across French Polynesia.

4G coverage

4G connection is moderately available across the country, but quality highly depends on the mobile operator.

International Roaming

Available at over 50 destinations, you can count on us to keep you connected even when you’re not in home soil. 
We know how difficult it can be to be far from home and the family for a long time. We can only wish to talk to them non-stop day and night. But we also know that the more we spend time with calls and texts overseas, the bigger the expenses can get. Read more

Top Mobile SIM network in French Polynesia

Here are the top mobile SIM networks in French Polynesia:

Vodafone

Vini

Ora Mobile

Emergency phone numbers

Here are the 3 most important emergency numbers to take note of when visiting French Polynesia:

ambulance service

15 for ambulance service

fire

18 for fire

police

17 for police

Best Time to Call French Polynesia

French Polynesia observes Tahiti Time using the time offset of UTC-10.
Gambier Time using the time offset of UTC-09 and Marquesas using the time offset of Time -09:30 . Wherever you are in Australia, you can call French Polynesia from the following time zones…

Best time to call

Time to Call

UTC Relative

Time Zone

State

French Polynesia 8:00am – 4:00pm UTC+10:00 Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) Queensland
8:00am – 2:00pm UTC+08:00 Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) Western Australia
8:00am – 3:30pm UTC+09:30 Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) South Australia, Northern Territory and town of Broken Hill in Western New South Wales
8:00am – 5:00pm UTC+11:00 Norfolk Island Standard Time (NFT) Norfolk Island
8:00am – 1:00pm UTC+07:00 Christmas Island Standard Time (CXT) Christmas Island
8:00am – 12:30pm UTC+06:30 Cocos (Keeling) Islands Standard Time (CCT) Cocos (Keeling) Islands

Daylight Savings Time (first Sunday in October – first Sunday in April)

Best time to call

Time to Call

UTC Relative

Time Zone

State

French Polynesia 8:00am – 2:00pm UTC+11:00 Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) New South Wales (except Broken Hill), Victoria, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory
9:00am – 1:00pm UTC+10:00 Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) Queensland
8:00am – 11:00am UTC+08:00 Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) Western Australia
8:30am – 1:30pm UTC+10:30 Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT) South Australia, Northern Territory and town of Broken Hill in Western New South Wales
8:00am – 12:30pm UTC+09:30 Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) Northern Territory
8:00am – 7:00pm UTC+12:00 Norfolk Island Daylight Time (NDT) Norfolk Island
8:00am – 1:00pm UTC+07:00 Christmas Island Standard Time (CXT) Christmas Island
8:00am – 12:30pm UTC+06:30 Cocos (Keeling) Islands Standard Time (CCT) Cocos (Keeling) Islands

Pick up a Lebara SIM

  • Woolworths icon
  • Caltex logo and Woolworths logo
  • Coles logo
  • Coles Express logo
  • United logo
  • Australia Post logo
  • Big W icon
  • BP logo
  • WHSmith logo